jump to navigation

A bit late but… Bonjour GTL!!! June 28, 2010

Posted by J.T. Foust in Travel Log.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So I’m a bit behind on posts, mostly because I’ve been posting to my individual blog. But here is the post from soon after arriving in Metz and Georgia Tech Lorraine!

Hello from France!

I’m finally all settled in here at GT Lorraine! It has been a whirlwind of a week!

I guess it all started with last Monday: after frantically throwing clothes, school supplies, and anything else that came to mind into my HUGE suitcase, it was a mad dash to the airport. Now that I think about it, it’s kinda amazing that I didn’t forget anything crucial (or at least I haven’t noticed it yet!)

The flights were fairly typical in that my already tight connection at Philadelphia got a bit more complicated when the pilot announced that we would be landing about 15 minutes behind schedule. I guess I should have expected that, though, as it seems to happen to every plane that flies out of Knoxville. It all worked out because the plane from Philly to Brussels was also delayed. So now I don’t have to worry about it until the flight home, which I think will have the same connection time frame!

I’ve been told Brussels is a really cool city, but I would have no idea, because I was in that post- transatlantic flight delirium and every bit of energy I had left was being put toward finding the right trains and times to get me to Metz. After that point, I passed WAY out on the train and woke up just before my stop.

I thought my trip was pretty crazy, but the next morning at orientation, we heard all the horror stories of people getting lost in train stations or airports or losing luggage, etc.

All things considered, it was a pretty successful journey from point A to point B, so I can’t really complain. I mean – at least nothing Really bad happened (like falling out of a bunk bed and getting a black eye without having a really cool story! That’s right, I’m looking at you Austen!)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

