jump to navigation

Vienna: more schnitzel please! June 18, 2011

Posted by shinjinidas in Travel Log.
trackback

Welcome to my blog! I am so excited to share all of my experiences with friends and family back home. We landed in Vienna late evening on June 1st, exhausted but charged to explore the city! After a delicious dinner of schnitzel (which we later found out was pork and cheese with a breaded cover), vegetables, and potatoes, I ordered amazing strawberry cheesecake gelato, and slept peacefully, dreaming of all that lay ahead in the next 10 weeks.

My favorite destination in Vienna would have to be the Belvedere Palace. First of all, it is unbelievably gorgeous, sitting on grounds which include decorated tiered fountains, cascades, and majestic gallant sculptures and wrought iron gates. We were all floored staring and imagining the grandeur of the beauty. At one point, I even said that if we pool our euros, we could purchase a Viennese summer home like this in the future! Inside, I was fascinated by Monet’s works, and the splendor of the Upper and Lower Belvedere Palaces. We had quite a few photo sessions outside the palace, especially near the beautiful Belvedere gardens, which were manicured to perfection.

The most exciting part of our stay in Vienna was the free day we received on the Saturday before departure. Upon walking around the city, we came across an epic annual music festival including renown bands from Italy and beyond. So, there we were, standing in the scorching heat, with thousands of other Viennese men and women, watching uniformed and costumed performers, hearing the best of the best bands from around Italy and of course, Austria! That was a magical experience I shall not forget.

Vienna is such a modern gem, so industrialized and efficient, but still with Europe’s old world charm. I was definitely surprised, as I had thought it would be this quaint European city. Instead, gorgeous monuments peaked out from everywhere (they are all exquisitely built and exquisitely tall). We even looked inside a Viennese university, which had a brain trauma exposition going on!

Of course and Vienna was the city from which my love for

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

margherita pizza began. What a simple but fabulous composition, tomato sauce and cheese, but what taste. I have gorged on too much pizza this trip, and Vienna was where it all began.

Vienna is definitely a city that shines. Each night, I would gaze outside of my windows which let me view the entire skyline of Vienna, so that I could trace the peaks and troughs of majestic buildings and cathedrals. What an utterly gorgeous sight!

Vienna lingered in my mind long after I had left, as I loved every second of my time there. What’s more, I spent my last night buying homemade tiramisu from a neighborhood bakery. It was absolutely scrumptious, no surprise.

Italy awaits…!

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

