jump to navigation

Gorizia, Antwerpen, Brugges, Bruxelles! August 15, 2011

Posted by quriouscat in Travel Log.
trackback

The first two weeks in Gorizia have been amazing. I really have enjoyed getting to know my fellow students in IFS (Italian Film Studies), as well meeting friendly strangers every step of my path in Europe. Not to mention, the three day weekends have raised my status as an international traveler!

The documentary topic my group has chosen for my film production class is very rich. “The Permanence of Ink” will follow the diverging and converging paths of ink in two different spaces: a tattoo parlor and a document restoration studio. There are a lot of different ways to approach the documentary, but I am confident our group can make something people will want to watch, and enjoy.

Life outside of school has been indescribable. I had the most incredible weekend with my lovely sister! There was a Catholic holiday our first weekend, so I was able to take off for Belgium after classes ended on Wednesday. I met up with my sister at Antwerpen Centraal 9:30 Thursday morning, and spent the day wandering around the city, making silly videos, and catching up. We stayed with one of her Belgian friends, Koen-a great host! After wandering around the city, he took us to the river side to watch the sunset. The weather was perfect, as well as the view.

The second day, my sister and I headed out via rail to Brugges (just north of Antwerp). The city’s layout was a bit hard for us to navigate, but my sister and I managed to wrangle some segways and tour the city with a guide, after a very quick stop at the fry museum! IT WAS SO MUCH FUN! I highly recommend this method of transportation, in any place, at anytime. Segway road trip, anyone?

We made it back to Antwerp in time to catch the Belgium – Turkey soccer game with Koen. It game ended up in a tie, but that night with Raleigh and Koen was the most fun I’ve had so far in Europe!

The next day I explored Bruxelles by myself before flying out the next day. It was a beautiful city, and did some souvenir shopping in the Grand Place. I liked my time in Brussels, but I was already missing my sister and my new friend! I guess it’s the life I must adjust to as a jet setter….

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Speaking of jet setting, I’m heading to Florence tomorrow. I don’t really know what to expect, but I kind of don’t want to do much research on the city. I guess I’m just expecting to be surprised.

 

Caio!

-The Qurious Cat

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

