jump to navigation

¡Hola de México! May 9, 2010

Posted by awheble in Travel Log.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Today was my second day in Mexico City, Mexico, and so far it’s been amazing! Though many people told me how big the city was, as we flew in I was blown away. The city stretches on and on and on! After arriving at the school, we met our host families for the next 6 weeks. My friend Katie (another 2nd year at Tech) and I are living with a woman named Adelina Plata in an apartment in the beautiful neighborhood of Condesa. She is a very sweet lady who loves to cook. She also has a two-year old grandson named Diego. He is absolutely precious and has ended up helping us to learn some Spanish words. We haven’t gotten a chance to walk around our neighborhood yet, but I’m told there are tons of great restaurants and a beautiful park nearby!

Today we went to Teotihuacan to visit the pyramids of the Aztecs. Teotihuacan is about an hour and a half from the Universidad de Comunicación (our school), so on the way there we got to see many other parts of the city, including several really cool neighborhoods that are situated on the sides of mountains. The pyramids were incredible! We took a tour of all the ruins and then climbed the Pyramid of the Moon and the Pyramid of the Sun. The Pyramid of the Sun is a very steep, 248-step climb, but the view from the top is awesome! Even with the thick smog, you can see all around for miles!

After the pyramids, we visited a site where they make these beautiful Aztec masks out of obsidian, turquoise, and other precious stones. I bought an Aztec calendar made out turquoise and then one of the workers chipped me off a piece from one of the large stones they have been using. They also showed us the maguey plant, which is a type of cactus that is used for needle and thread, paper, pulque (a kind of thick tequila), and other things, as well.

I can already feel myself getting a little better at the language, but I still need lots of practice. My original slight nervousness has turned to excitement and I’m really looking forward to all that is to come!

Pictures:

The first picture is of me and Katie sitting in the cockpit after our flight. I was very blessed to have my dad as my captain for the flight down there, especially since I got extra peanuts and water. The other two pictures are from Teotihuacan.

Comments»

1. jane waters - May 9, 2010

Hey,
It looks and sounds like you are having a wonderful time. I was especially intrested in hearing about the obsidian and tourquoise. I bet you can get some great jewelry!! Have fun, stay with a friend, remember to check in each night !! ( so I can handle your mother)
Oh, If you see a little white car drive back and forth by your house (with two women in it) just ignore it.
Have a wonderful trip and keep blogging.
Love,
Jane

2. Kylee McNutt - May 21, 2010

Hi Ms. Amy
I dont know if you remember me im Kylee McNutt from your jazz class last year. I miss you so much.I did jazz this year with Mrs.Kym Bushmore. Next year I am doing jazz and modern. I still have your key chain you made for me I love it. I got my costumes on Thurs. I like them. I was wondering if you are going to come teach dance again? I saw your mom the other day and she told me about your blog and I wanted to read it so bad.Hope your having fun in Mexico!
From,
Kylee McNutt

awheble - May 24, 2010

Hi Kylee! Of course I remember you! I am so excited to hear that you’re still loving dance because you are so talented! Mrs. Kym is an awesome teacher and I am sure you really enjoyed her class this year. I think you will really like modern because it’s a little different than the dance you’ve done before, a little bit challenging, and A LOT of fun!

I’m not sure if I will ever be back to teach dance again because college keeps me very busy, but I will probably be around the studio a little bit during at the beginning of the year and during holidays so keep an out for me!

I’m very sad that I won’t be back to watch you in this year’s show, but I’m sure you will do a great job! Good luck and have a wonderful summer!

With love,
Miss Amy


Leave a Reply

