jump to navigation

Ahoj! June 24, 2010

Posted by Megan Sweeney in Travel Log.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

(a.k.a. ‘Hello’ in Czech)

We finally left Italy and headed on to Austria, Vienna specifically. At first I was sad to leave such a beautiful country where their language is so similar to Spanish that communication is not a problem, but three cities later I was about done with pizza, spaghetti, and gelato. We also had a change of pace when we got to do more music stuff than art lecture and museums! Our second day in Vienna we visited an old opera house and attended an opera that same evening. Not to say we did not see any museums: we visited the Kunsthistorisches museum, the Upper Belvedere museum, and the secession house. Vienna marked a transition from older renaissance style artwork to modern pieces (we skipped all the years in between because we have not visited those cities yet).

After three busy days in Vienna,we packed up and drove on to Prague, my favorite cities so far! We were right in the heart of town (near shopping and restaurants), our hotel was nice, and everything was so much cheaper there than in earlier cities. We visited a modern art museum, the Veletrzni Palace, and Prague Castle. But one of the highlights for me from Prague was going to Carmen; I could actually appreciate the opera because all the scenery and costumes. Carmen even had English subtitles so I could follow the plot!

That’s all for now, but we’re headed to Berlin and Brugge/Brussels so I’m sure I’ll have more to write about soon!

Comments»

1. Carol and Bill Sweeney June 26, 2010 - June 26, 2010

Megan I guess I put my newest message in the wrong spot oops! Maybe you will still see it. Enjoyed reading your new entry. Went to the airport and had lunch with your Mom and Dad on Wed. I know you get to Oxford today! Grandpa is out side but I will share it all with him when he comes in
Love Grandma and Grandpa Sweeney


Leave a Reply

