jump to navigation

Trip to the Yonghegong Temple Area August 5, 2010

Posted by markgurevich in Travel Log.
trackback

Over the course of my summer last year I interned in the accounting department of a small company, and there I met a woman named Mei who is originally from China. One day during the school year, I visited the office, and I mentioned to her that I was going to be in Beijing this summer. She told me that one of her cousins, Joe (his English name), lives in Beijing. She said that he would be happy to show me around some parts of Beijing. Last weekend I had the opportunity of meeting Joe, and he decided to show me an area of Beijing centered around an old Buddhist temple known as the Yonghe temple.

I took the metro to the Yonghegong station where I finally got the chance to meet Joe. Our first stop was an old imperial building used for administrative purposes. I saw a small plaza where the emperor used to dictate his mandates to his civil servants. After that place, I was treated out to lunch at a famous restaurant nearby known as Jin Ding Xuan. The food there was absolutely delicious, and I know that I will miss Chinese cuisine when I return to the United States where all I eat is late-night Lucky Buddha. After lunch, we actually went to the Yonghe Temple. The Yonghe Temple dates back to the 1600’s, and has been used as a monastery and as a residence of the emperor. A lot of traditional style Chinese architecture has been disappearing in the last twenty years due to rapid modern developments, and this is one of the best examples of the old architecture.

After walking around for a bit, I thanked Joe for showing me around, and I went back to Tsinghua University to study for an upcoming in my human factors course.

Comments»

1. China vacations info – Beijing Lama Temple « Tibetan Copper - September 11, 2010

[…] Trip to the Yonghegong Temple Area […]


Leave a Reply

