jump to navigation

Dublin, Ireland August 9, 2010

Posted by eblumer3 in Travel Log.
trackback

Looking back through pictures, I was trying to pick out a favorite city. I couldn’t. I did really enjoy my trip to Ireland, though. Three weeks ago, we went to Dublin, Ireland and had a blast. There were sixteen of us from the Oxford Program who went. We all stayed in the same hostel and hung out together at night and the majority of us together during the daytime as well. I had no clue what to expect of Dublin. We got to our hostel at 8:00am Friday morning and spent the day walking around Dublin and of course, going shopping for typical Irish gifts. I mean, who doesn’t want a “Kiss me, I’m Irish” t-shirt actually from Ireland! (For the record, I did not purchase such a shirt, though I did see my fair share of them.) Dublin is not a huge city, but it is not small by any means: definitely a very walkable city, which I adore. It is crazy how in a town like Dublin we can run into other friends from the Oxford Program who were visiting on the same weekend. It was such a pleasant surprise to run into Rob Griffith and Mary Catherine Delvin randomly on one of the main shopping streets. They joined us for dinner and going out later that evening.

While I enjoyed Dublin, the Irish country side was my favorite. My four closest friends and I took a day long bus tour of the Irish countryside. The sights were breathtaking. The Cliffs of Moher, little fishing villages, and beautiful coastline views consumed our Saturday in Ireland. Due to the lack of weekends, I was unable to explore the Cotswolds and white cliffs of Dover in the United Kingdom, so luckily I got my dose of natural beauty in Ireland.

It was a whirlwind trip. Sunday morning we woke up and headed straight for the airport. No time to explore Dublin then, but it was a fun weekend regardless of its brevity. When we got back at Oxford, we watched the movie, P.S. I Love You, in honor of our trip to Ireland. To our excitement, the Irish countryside in real life is just as beautiful as in the movie!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

