jump to navigation

Désolé! May 19, 2011

Posted by Dustin Hsu in Travel Log.
Tags: ,
trackback

What does désolé mean you might ask? Désolé is simply how you say “sorry” in French. I’ve only been in France for four whole days, but I’ve already used the word more than enough. Let’s start from the beginning of my stay in France.

I flew into Frankfurt, Germany the morning of May 16th. From there, I rode a bus filled with fellow GTLers to the wonderful campus of Georgia Tech Lorraine. After checking into my dorm, I quickly began to unpack and arrange my room. Before leaving home, I had been advised to pack a power strip so that I could plug in my electronics without having to buy an exorbitant amount of adapters. So naturally, I plugged my power strip into one of the sockets of my room, eager to hook up all my electronics. Unfortunately, my power strip knocked out power to the entire floor of my dorm. Désolé!

A few days later, my friends and I decided to venture into downtown Metz. Thinking it was close enough to walk, we began trekking towards the scenic downtown river area…about a half hour later, we realized we were going the wrong way. With some innovative location sensing devices (read map), we navigated our way to downtown Metz just as the sun was setting. Hungry for some food, we sat down for our first French dining experience. As the waitress took our drink orders, I spotted a delicious looking item on the menu. Much to my chagrin, the waitress looked at me and said, “No that is impossible!” Thinking she was joking, I gave her a shy laugh and a confused look, to which she promptly replied, “You are not child! That is for child.” Désolé!

After our meal (which was delicious by the way), we made our way to the river and took some pictures of two beautiful churches. The lights of the city made everything look spectacular!

By the river in downtown Metz.

Last night, some of the French students who are staying in the dorms with us hosted a BBQ dinner for us. The food was very good, and everyone had a great time getting to know each other. Their English was impeccable, and much to our delight, they were all engineers at one of the local universities. We quickly found a similarity between their school and Georgia Tech: the ratio…to which I quickly said désolé!

Tomorrow I will be traveling to Interlaken, Switzerland and will be canyoning on Saturday. I’m excited for my first weekend of travel and will be sure to let you all know how it went in my next post!

Until then…au revoir!

Comments»

1. Colleen - July 24, 2013

I believe this is among the such a lot important info for me.
And i am happy reading your article. However should statement on
some normal things, The website style is perfect, the articles is in reality excellent :
D. Just right task, cheers


Leave a Reply

