jump to navigation

Cadiz – La Ciudad de mi Corazon! June 2, 2011

Posted by annasulimirski in Travel Log.
trackback

I’ve been here for four days, and I still can’t believe it’s true. This city is absolutely wonderful. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I got so much more than whatever that was! I love the people, the culture, the beaches, the history, and the buildings. Everything is full of beauty!

The trip here was difficult, but looking back on it, it’s just a blur. I love my host-mom, Juani. She is so kind and caring, and I like to just spend time with her. She is fun to laugh with and loves to talk, which is good because I love to learn. Classes are going well. I’m definitely learning A LOT from the combination of learning about a subject in class, and then talking with Juani about it later. My brain is starting to switch to permanent Spanish mode, so I keep spelling English words incorrectly even while I’m typing this. It is exciting, and I can’t wait to hear myself after this month is over. Actually I can. I am definitely looking forward to all the experiences this month will bring! It’s only been 4 days and I’ve experienced so much: delicious foods, wandering the city, learning new words, salsa dancing, swimming, and meeting new people.

Cadiz doesn’t have many tourists, so I feel very immersed in Spanish culture. The people are so friendly, caring, loud, and full of life! They don’t rush towards something that makes them happy, they simply enjoy life as they go through it. Maybe it has something to do with the sun setting at 10:30 at night. They just have more time in the day to live a full life!

Tomorrow I’ll be going to Lisbon, Portugal for the weekend. It should be an adventure!

 

The pictures are of the Cathedral of Cadiz, the view from the beach that I walk to everyday, and the seafood in the market!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

