jump to navigation

Africa for the weekend! June 21, 2011

Posted by annasulimirski in Travel Log.
trackback

I can’t believe I haven’t posted since Lisbon…

The next week was full of beach time, spending time with my Spanish mom, and doing projects for school. Then last weekend, we took a trip to Tanger, Morocco!! (Shakira’s “Africa” song, anyone?). It was such an adventure, and I loved experiencing it with my new friends here in the program. Morocco is extremely different from any other place I’ve ever been to. It is Arabic and the majority of its people are Muslim. It made the experience so unique from most European adventures.

We went through a company for safety and convenience sake. On the tour I got to fulfill one of my life long dreams of riding a camel!! I don’t think I can ever top that facebook profile picture. We also took a tour through the “medina” or neighborhoods in the city, went to way too many stores, and were haggled by countless peddlers. We also had interesting presentations in both carpet shops and a natural pharmacy. It was definitely an interesting smelling trip, and the mint tea is absolutely delicious!! I bought an African drum to play with someone else on my djembe when I get back 🙂

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

