jump to navigation

Work June 29, 2011

Posted by sangitasharma in Travel Log.
trackback

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am now into my second week of work at the Aerospace Department of IISc, Bangalore. It’s been incredible.  The campus itself is huge – spanning over 7 acres, it’s filled with looming trees, bright green shrubbery, and large stone buildings. Dogs and monkeys share the streets with pedestrians, scooters, and auto-rickshaws.

As scenic as the exterior campus may be, the atmosphere inside the buildings is largely reminiscent of Tech. The lab I work at operates much like the labs back home; the familiarity of it is wonderful. I am working on a project that involves the fatigue life of Rotor Yokes, and I am working with three other interns. We work hard, but we manage to find plenty of time to surf facebook, chat about the latest cricket game or Bollywood movie, and explore campus. I really like the people I work with; they’re incredibly brilliant, but they’re also fun to hang out with.

Interestingly enough, I recently met a Post-Doc-Fellow here who considered getting his PhD at Georgia Tech under Professor Dewey Hodges. Professor Hodges is my undergrad academic advisor. This unexpected, seemingly random connection made me realize how well-known Georgia Tech is on the global stage.  I did not expect to be able to talk about various Tech professors with students here, but I was pleasantly surprised. I knew Tech had an international reputation for excellence, but I didn’t understand the extent until I came here, to IISc.

I’ve fallen into a comfortable routine of going to work during the day and relaxing or wandering around the neighborhood in the evenings. I am also now comfortable enough with my Kannada that I think I will start venturing further from home. Hopefully I have some exciting stories to share soon!

-June 2nd, 2011

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

