jump to navigation

Finally going to London August 8, 2011

Posted by Colleen Crouch in Travel Log.
trackback

So after living an hour away from London for five weeks, I finally went this weekend.  Of all the trips I have made in the United Kingdom, this was the only city that I knew for sure I would be coming back to in the future (I wish I could revisit all of the other cities, but I don’t think a trip to Betws-y-Coed, Wales would ever be practical).  This made for an interesting perspective: I did not feel as if I had to cram everything in to three days.   That being said we still did a ton of stuff!

Friday we were standing in line for Buckingham palace when they told us the tickets were all sold out! Very disappointing, but instead we went to the War Rooms that Churchill and his cabinet used during World War II.  It was one of the best museums I have ever been in.  I have to say that London has the best dang audio guides in Europe.  Next, we went inside Westminster Abbey which was by far the most magnificent church that I have seen all trip and a ton of famous people are buried there including two of my favorite authors: Emily and Charlotte Bronte.  The final place we went to on Saturday was London Bridge/Tower Bridge.  At this point, I began to sing the famous song and realized I did not know whether London Bridge ever actually fell, so I looked it up http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Bridge_Is_Falling_Down.

Saturday was just as epic, and as my parents requested here is the copy of the email I sent them Saturday night.  (Good thing I did since there happened to be riots in London that night–I did not hear about this until after we got back).

“About to head to bed after a very very long day.  We woke up and got on a train at 7:15 to make sure we got those gosh darn Buckingham palace tickets. And we did!! We went to the Mews which is their famous stables which I absolutely loved  seeing all the carriages and a few horses 🙂 Next we toured the state apartments and I have never been so impressed by decorations (and that is saying something since I have also seen Versailles and other places).  I am now absolutely set on becoming a princess and spending Christmas in that magnificent palace.

Then we went to Tower of London to see not only where thousands of people were killed but also to see the incredibly beautiful crown jewels of England.  GEEZE!!! There are so many crowns and scepters and a spoon(?) and tons of other really really really expensive and old stuff.  Next we went to Chinatown to stuff ourselves with food.  And according to Rachael, it is the oldest Chinatown in the world (excluding China of course 😉 ).  Then we went to King’s Cross station to take a Harry Potter picture.  Turns out it is not actually between 9 and 10 at the moment.  You have to exit King’s Cross station to go to 9 3/4 and take pictures with the cart.  The had to move it for construction:  All of London is under construction in preparation for the 2012 Olympics.

Sunday we went to Greenwich to stand on the prime meridian (and that is about all that is in Greenwich that is worth seeing).  Of course, being England, a terential downpour started while we were in line to take a picture, but Rachael and I were so used to it that we just laughed and as the Brits say “Keep Calm and Carry On.”  By the end of the day, I was so exhausted that I literally collapsed into bed.

What a fantastic weekend!!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

