jump to navigation

Prague July 25, 2012

Posted by tsteindorf in Travel Log.
trackback

Strasbourg and Prague

Posted on July 13, 2012

So I have been putting off writing this blog post for a while. I’m not entirely sure why though… Prague was great. I think I am starting to get lazy, because I haven’t had morning classes all week. All of this free time means I haven’t done anything productive this whole week! Except a test of course.

Anyways… On July 4th, GTL decided it would be good for us to have a field trip to Strasbourg, the location of the European parliament. I opted for the first group, whose itinerary was just hang out in Strasbourg before seeing the parliament in action. The other group went to a concentration camp nearby, but having already been to Dachau, I wanted to just enjoy Strasbourg.

A pretty shot walking through the streets of Strasbourg

Unfortunately, there is not much to do in Strasbourg. We walked around a bit, went to Petite France (still don’t know why it is called that), got some food, and went shopping. Admittedly, that was kinda fun, and I almost got a sweater vest and a dress vest. Unfortunately, neither fit the greatest, and I started to feel pretty sick that day (update- I’m all better now, but I actually went to the doctor that Friday for meds). After ditzing around for a couple of hours, we went to the European parliament. It was decently cool, but to be honest I wasn’t paying any attention- I was more focused on trying to breathe and trying not to cough. We got home around 10, so celebrations for the Fourth of July just didn’t happen that evening.

View from the Charles Bridge

This last weekend I visited Prague! Again there was a bit of a change in the group dynamic as Nathan had already been, and Akash spent the weekend in Paris. I traveled to Prague with Kristen and Melanie, and we met Gus and Kate there. To be honest, I didn’t have any expectations for Prague, and I didn’t really know what the weekend had in store. After a delicious (and cheap!) dinner of pizza at a local restaurant, we decided to try out the “largest club in Central Europe,” Karlovy Lazne. On the way we stopped at an open restaurant near the river and sat with some German guys, and ended up talking with them for 2 hours. By the time we tried to go to the club, we were a bit tired, and decided to go the next night when we could get a discount while on a pub crawl. It was great sitting and talking to the German’s though- they were very funny and great at English too!

The Lennon Wall

The next morning we went on a walking tour of Prague, and our American tour guide was surprisingly knowledgeable about Prague’s history and the different buildings we got to see. Afterwards we stopped at a phenomenal vegetarian restaurant, and then headed towards the Prague Castle. On the way, we stopped at the Lennon wall, and wall that has been the home to positive and uplifting graffiti since western music was banned in Prague during the communistic regime.  The wall started when someone spray painted Lennon’s face, and since then, it has been covered.

Unfortunately the Prague castle was closed, but we spent some time at the nearby monastery’s brewery before heading back for our pub crawl. It was fun up until Kate’s ankle started killing her, and she and Gus actually ended up at the hospital. Good news was that A) there was nothing wrong and B) the x-rays and wraps and such only cost around $30! Prague is super cheap. I also had burritos that night, so I was very happy.

View from the Astronomical Tower

The next day we walked around and got some delicious bagel sandwiches before heading home. There wasn’t much else to do- we went back to the old square and got some souvenirs, but we were all pretty tired. All in all, despite a seemingly uneventful trip, Prague was a lot of fun. I’m glad I took a trip to somewhere not in Western Europe. I’m headed to Salzburg, Austria tonight, and Croatia next weekend! So keep a look out. Thanks for reading!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

