jump to navigation

Weekend #7: Cairns Liveaboard February 24, 2013

Posted by Allie George in Travel Log.
trackback

Allie's Adventures Abroad

After a six-year dearth of diving, it was great to be in over my head once more. I was lucky enough to be able to spend this past weekend living on a roughly 90′ boat stationed out on the Great Barrier Reef. I am already struggling to find words capable of even beginning to do justice to this spectacular sight, and even pictures failed to capture the brilliant colors, exotic life, and natural beauty of the reef. As Jamey Johnson so eloquently puts it, “A picture’s worth a thousand words, but you can’t see what those shades of gray keep covered. You should’ve seen it in color.”

Thursday

It was the first weekend that I had no trouble packing all of my belongings into a carry-on-friendly, 7 kg bag. This was mostly due to the fact that I only had to bring a couple bathing suits and some flip flops…

View original post 2,363 more words

