jump to navigation

Sydney, Australia April 26, 2013

Posted by sgrimes7 in Travel Log.
trackback

I have now been in Sydney for about 4 days and I absolutely love this place! (despite the internet I already mentioned) We arrived Saturday around 3pm after 2 flights from Rockhampton to Brisbane and then Brisbane to Sydney. My brother, Taylor, got here about 4 hours ahead of me so I was super excited to find him once I got to the hotel! Upon arriving at the hotel I was happy to find that we actually have some space here! This is the first actual hotel we’ve stayed in rather than a research station or hostel. I have 2 roommates, Angelena and Lindsey, and there is a pull out couch for my brother to sleep on! As soon as I set my bags down I tried to get some internet so that I could find Taylor, however the hotel’s internet was down 😦 Needless to say, I ended up wandering Sydney for about 2 hours trying to find any type of Wifi I could so that I could locate him. I finally stumbled upon a sketchy little place that read “Cafe, convenience and internet” so I bought a water bottle and sat down to hopefully contact Taylor. After I had been sitting for a while the owner came and sat down next to me and I had a great conversation with him, learning some cool facts about Sydney, while waiting an hour for Taylor to find me. Once we found each other the night went smoothly. Many of us went out on the town to explore Kings Cross area and celebrate Scott’s 20th birthday! It was a very successful night!

Me and Taylor the first night out!
Me and Taylor the first night out!

The next morning we woke up and headed down to the harbor. Me, Taylor, Lindsey and Mark decided to explore Circular Quay, which is where the famous Opera house and Sydney Bridge are. There was a great little market going on so we got to do a little shopping and eat some good food. Also there was a cool street performer that we stopped to watch and Mark actually got called on to be a part of her act. It turned out to be a great morning laughing and walking around the city. Next, we jumped on the ferry to go to Manly Beach where we spent the day laying out and watching surfers along with a little shopping and ice cream on the side! Manly is a very touristy area and filled with tons of people! We jumped on the ferry back at the exact right time to catch sunset over the Sydney Bridge and Harbor! I had never seen a sunset so beautiful — not even on Heron Island!! By the end of the day I was exhausted and had a research paper due Monday morning so the rest of the night was work!

The famous opera house!
The famous opera house!
Mark in the street performance!
Mark in the street performance!
Ferry Ride headed to Manly!
Ferry Ride headed to Manly!
Markets at Circular Quay
Markets at Circular Quay
Manly Beach!
Manly Beach!
Beautiful sunset over the Sydney Bridge
Beautiful sunset over the Sydney Bridge
Ferry Ride from Manly to Circular Quay!
Ferry Ride from Manly to Circular Quay!

Monday came and for Biology class we headed to Long Reef Marine Park to collect data on species diversity and abundance on different areas in relation to their exposure to wave energy! The view from the park was breathtaking and had many of the guys longing to play the golf course which over looked it! All in all it was another great day of Class!

Where we collected all of our data for the day
Where we collected all of our data for the day
Me and Lindsey overlooking  Long Reef Marine Park
Me and Lindsey overlooking Long Reef Marine Park
Long reef marine park
Long reef marine park

It is now Tuesday and I am sitting in Gloria Jean’s Coffee shop waiting to head up to the top of Sydney tower for another day of “class” This time its for my science, technology, and human values class and we will be hearing about the urban development of Sydney while overlooking the entire city from many meters up! I will have to update y’all on that later along with my other Sydney adventures. Tomorrow I’m off to the Blue Mountains!

