jump to navigation

Back to Paris! August 21, 2013

Posted by lauramargaretb in Travel Log.
Tags:
trackback

I enjoyed France so much on the travel portion that I decided to go back for one of the long weekends at Oxford. I flew into Charles de Gaulle, where I met up with some family friends that used to live in Atlanta and were now living outside of Paris.  After picking up fresh croissants from the boulangerie, we had breakfast in the backyard, enjoying the beautiful weather and clear skies.  We all spent the day at Eurodisney, enjoying Mickey Mouse in a new setting!  (It’s on my lifelong to-do list to visit every Disney Park in the world!  Paris – check!)

Image

We grilled out for dinner, complete with fresh French bread and vegetables, and then reentered the park for the wonderful fireworks show “Dreams.”  The next day, we had breakfast in the back yard again, and the family drove me to the train station where I headed into the city.  Once I arrived in Paris, I met up with a group of my friends who were studying at Georgia Tech Lorraine for the summer.  We all got lunch together and then headed to the center of town to see the sights!

We first visited Notre Dame, which was under construction, but nonetheless beautiful!  We walked along the River Seine to the Lock Bridge and to the Eiffel Tower.  We picked up a pizza for supper and took it to picnic at the base of the Eiffel Tower.  We spent the rest of the evening there catching up on each others’ European adventures and watching the Tower sparkle with each hour.  We then headed back to the hostel for the night.

Sunday was July 14, Bastille Day! What an incredible time to be in Paris, with everything lit in “Bleu, Blanc, et Rouge.” We headed to Sacre Coeur, a church atop a hill with a little shopping area around it.   We climbed to the top and saw an amazing view of Paris, toured the Basilica and did a little shopping before lunch.  Then we headed down to the city via cable car.  We all headed back to the hostel where I packed to leave for the airport after an amazing trip with friends! Image

